Eating Adventures

When people think of Chinese food I think two things come to mind: either crab rangoons or something weird and probably fishy. While these are both extremes (crab rangoons aren’t really “Chinese”!) it can be an adventure trying new foods in China, sometimes good, sometimes bad.

Before a recent dinner at a friend’s bar, I was starving! Not wanting to drink on an empty stomach, I reached for some packaged snacks on the counter. After opening and taking one bite of the little pellets, I didn’t spit them out. I was intrigued. At first they tasted a bit like dog treats (side note: I’ve never knowingly eaten dog treats, but one can imagine). I tried a few more pellets (I told you I was hungry) and the taste improved a bit but I’m still not sure I didn’t eat something intended for our furry friends.

IMG_1229 IMG_1230

Eating Adventures

Leave a Reply

