#Nailed It: Red Velvet Edition

Skip loves Red Velvet. I love sweets. It is a dangerous combination.

I needed to use up a red velvet cake mix, so I went to the Google to find a new idea.

I stumbled upon this Red Velvet Monkey Bread recipe from Something Swanky. The pictures, of course, make the treat look delicious. Unfortunately my version turned out a bit off. This might be due to the fact I don’t eat dairy so I subbed out coconut oil and light karo syrup for the butter and honey in the recipe! Regardless, it was fun to make and I learned you can’t use coconut oil for everything.

Red Velvet Monkey Bread _1 Red Velvet Monkey Bread _2 Red Velvet Monkey Bread _3

Then a few weeks later I wanted to make a fancy red velvet cake for Skip’s birthday. I got it in my head that I should put cake ball filling (IE: cake mixed with frosting) as the middle cream to hold the layers together. While this was a tasty idea, it didn’t hold up too well. I think it was too soft to keep the cake upright and straight.

Red Velvet Birthday Cake

Until the next time, I’m going to keep #nailingit. Tell us your stories of #nailingit in the comments.

 

#Nailed It: Red Velvet Edition

Leave a Reply

