Super Soups

Shanghai

In Shanghai we have pretty mild winters, especially compared to the Nebraska cold that I grew up with. Although it feels different because not many places have central heating in Shanghai and it is common for areas South of the Yangtze River not to have heat. I was “lucky” enough to experience this my first year in Shanghai. I taught at Shanghai University and there was no heat in our classrooms. I wore my coat all day and once the students (50 or so) got in the room body heat worked to our advantage. I suppose the advantage of no heat was that I could wear pj’s under my coat and no one would be the wiser!

Thinking, talking and feeling the cold weather makes me, and probably everyone else, think of soup! I love soup so much that I even hauled a Crockpot from Nebraska to China. Okay, Kyle hauled it as I needed more room for clothes, cosmetics and cheese, but it made the packing list. Below are two of my go-tos when the weather turns and I’m craving something warm and filling.

The Pioneer Woman’s potato soup is creamy, filling feels decadent and who can say no to bacon in a soup. So good!

The Minimalist Baker’s Black Bean and Sweet Potato Chili is the perfect blend of savory with a little sweet.

I would eat both of these soups anytime of the day and anytime of the year but cold weather makes them taste even better especially if there’s enough for leftovers. Enjoy!

Denver

I am obsessed with my crock pot. I make meals both during the summer and winter months. However, as soon as it gets chilly, I turn that bad boy on for soup making at least once a week. I’ve already made a mental note to add Ann’s list above to my soup repertoire.

New recipes are good for me. Sometimes I get a bit settled on soup. My go-to is chili. I use whatever tomato juice, soup, stock I have on hand, add beans, ground meat, corn and sometimes even bell peppers.

However, I was feeling adventurous during a recent grocery trip and came home with a giant bag of kale and a few sweet potatoes. A quick Google search yielded an intriguing sounding Portuguese soup, caldo verde. I did a few things different. I used sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes. forgot to chop the kale and blended it all a bit more for a creamy base. It was delish!

IMG_8357

Super Soups

Leave a Reply

