Halloween Round-Up

I know its a bit past Halloween but Ash and I thought it would be fun to take a look at the different celebrations in Shanghai and Denver. Very different indeed.

Halloween is not a traditional holiday in China and is not normally celebrated although it is growing little by little each year. When I lived in Korea I had plenty of time to plan and craft and make Halloween great but living in Shanghai I’m not home much and getting into ‘crafty mode‘ is more difficult. Last year I worked late and didn’t even celebrate Halloween. This year I was a bit more motivated and thanks to some last minute inspiration I was able to have a decent costume. Luckily Kyle also owns a dinosaur jumpsuit….weirdo!

For Halloween Kyle and I headed to Yongkang to meet some friends, eat some kebabs and generally get a little wild. There were lots of Chinese who came down to spectate and ‘trick or treat’ but they got more tricks than treat as there wasn’t a lot of candy going around. My regret is the same as those trick or treaters, not enough candy!

2015-10-31 18.58.51

2015-10-31 18.59.12

2015-10-31 19.35.09     2015-10-31 19.57.34  2015-10-31 20.02.48   2015-10-31 20.34.24

Meanwhile in Denver, Halloween fell on a Friday. A FRIDAY! Even though Halloween is like a national holiday, we still have to work the day of and day after. So imagine everyone’s delight when Halloween falls on a weekend!

This year, Skip and I got into it and evoked Anchorman characters Veronica Corningstone and Ron Burgundy. I am almost embarrassed to admit that we greeted trick-or-treaters with a dirty martini or glass of scotch in hand. Our neighborhood isn’t a “hot” trick-or-treat ‘hood so we only had about 20 kids come to the door. We also left to go to a house party at 8 p.m. Hey, it was a Friday! My favorite part was introducing myself, “I’m Veronica Corningstone, Tits McGee is on vacation this week.”

Halloween 2015

Halloween Boys 2015

Halloween 2015 - Girls

 

Halloween Round-Up

Leave a Reply

