Girl With the Curls

I have been both blessed and cursed with curly hair. Blessed because I now love the ease and simplicity curly hair allows. I can wash it, put in product and be out the door in a snap. Or I can put it up into a French twist and look fancy without really having to try.

Up dos are not problemCursed because I did not know how to cut or style my curly hair until I was about 22. My mother keeps hostage years of photos that are proof of my poor hair cutting choices. In this classic shot, I was trying to mimic Gwyneth Paltrow’s pixie cut.

Scary haircut of the centuryNowadays I get asked what I use on my hair at least once a week. So I thought I would share my tips with the world. The struggle is real for my curly haired comrades.

First, and this is most important, never brush your hair. I finger comb it while I condition, but that is it. Once I am out of the shower, I shake my hair a bit. Give it a good flip and put on product. Right now I am loving L’Oréal Curl It Mousse. I have never liked mousse before I started using this product. I genteelly scrunch a big glob of this into my hair. Next, I spray on John Frieda Dream Curls Daily Styling Spray.

Curly Hair ProductsUnfortunately, my hair curls best if I don’t touch it until nearly dry. I call this my drowned rat look.

Drowned Rat LookBut patience is rewarded! Once dried, my curls look great and these products really do hold the curl.

Curls

Girl With the Curls

Leave a Reply

