My Go-To Recipe: Fruit Crisp

I believe every girl should have an easy, go-to recipe that can be whipped up at a moment’s notice. For me, there is nothing like a bite of fresh-from-the-oven fruit crisp. I say “fruit” and not apple, strawberry or peach because this recipe can be used with any fruit available. Fresh or frozen, it still turns out amazing. I am spoiled because I often use fruit from my parent’s orchard. They have about eight fruit trees and my mom is a master freezer. But whatever you have on hand will suffice. I printed this recipe from allrecipes.com about eight years ago. You can see it has been used and abused in my kitchen. Original crisp recipeRecently I stopped eating dairy so I adapted it to fit my lifestyle. The secret is in the two layers of topping. I mix one cup of brown sugar, rolled oats and flour. I put a shake or three of cinnamon in as well and give it a good stir.

Yummy crisp toppingInstead of ½ cup of butter, like the recipe calls for, I use ½ cup of applesauce, apple butter or plum butter. Whatever I have on hand. It doesn’t get crispy quite like topping made with butter, but I think the taste is better. The recipe calls for three apples, but I generally add whatever I have on hand to fill the dish to the top. You can sprinkle a bit of sugar on the fruit if you are working with something tart. I used raspberries and strawberries but I like tart so I didn’t add sugar.

Fruit fillingAfter spraying a 9-by-9 inch pan, put half of the crumble as the bottom layer.

Bottom crispTop with your fruit (and a bit more cinnamon for good measure).

Top with fruit Finally top with the rest of the crumble.

crisp 5Pop in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes and voila! The perfect fruit crisp.

crisp recipe (3)

My Go-To Recipe: Fruit Crisp

Leave a Reply

